Ian COX

(Torquay, Grande-Bretagne) 

Ian COX (Grande Bretagne) .jpg

Ian cox

 

Ian Cox lives near Plymouth in Great Britain. The prints he produces (linocuts) have a deceptive photographic quality while being largely imagined and entirely handcrafted. He is also currently exploring other printmaking techniques, including woodcut and photoengraving.

"I am interested in the energies that flow beneath the surface of these landscapes ... energies that tell the spirit of a place, its time and its history, where complex entanglements swirl in unique and almost incoherent patterns. which sometimes speak of our relationship with the landscape itself ".

 

“I produce small editions of less than twenty prints, spending about a week working on the photographs and drawings before transferring them to one or two lino blocks. Then I take another two, three or four weeks to complete the cut. , which is followed by approximately three days of printing ".

 

“I work with the reduction method, so that the lino is destroyed during the printing process of each color. Since the prints I create are always difficult to produce, there is inherent unpredictability and instability. my approach - a high degree of risk - so it is not uncommon for the process to collapse at the final stage and a project to be abandoned. " But when it works, a voice begins to speak and a story emerges ... "

Ian Cox
Ian Cox

The brisons cape Cornwall.

press to zoom
Ian Cox
Ian Cox

Hawthorns

press to zoom
Ian Cox
Ian Cox

The brisons cape Cornwall.

press to zoom
1/2

Ian COX

(Torquay, Grande-Bretagne) 

Ian COX (Grande Bretagne) .jpg

 Ian Cox

 

Ian Cox vit près de Plymouth en Grande-Bretagne. Les estampes qu'il produit (linogravures) ont une qualité photographique trompeuse tout en étant largement imaginées et entièrement fabriquées à la main. Il explore également actuellement d’autres techniques d’estampe, y compris la gravure sur bois et la photogravure.

"Je m’intéresse aux énergies qui coulent sous la surface de ces paysages... des énergies qui racontent l’esprit d’un lieu, de son temps et de son histoire, où des enchevêtrements complexes tourbillonnent dans des motifs uniques et presque incohérents qui parlent parfois de notre relation avec le paysage lui-même".

 

"Je produis de petites éditions de moins de vingt estampes, passant environ une semaine à travailler sur les photographies et les dessins avant de les transférer sur un ou deux blocs lino. Je prends ensuite deux, trois ou quatre semaines de plus pour terminer la coupe, qui est suivie d’environ trois jours d’impression".

 

"Je travaille avec la méthode de réduction, de sorte que le lino est détruit pendant le processus d’impression de chaque couleur. Étant donné que les tirages que je crée sont toujours difficiles à produire, il y a une imprévisibilité et une instabilité inhérentes à mon approche - un degré élevé de risque - il n’est donc pas rare que le processus s’écroule à l’étape finale et qu’un projet soit abandonné". Mais quand cela fonctionne, une voix commence à parler et une histoire émerge..."

Ian Cox
Ian Cox

The brisons cape Cornwall.

press to zoom
Ian Cox
Ian Cox

Hawthorns

press to zoom
Ian Cox
Ian Cox

The brisons cape Cornwall.

press to zoom
1/2